Our Board, including the Managing Director, is responsible for setting strategic direction, establishing goals and objectives for executive management and monitoring the business on behalf of our customers and the Victorian Government. Key functions of our Board include:

  • Establishing objectives and monitoring the performance of the Managing Director
  • Adopting a Corporate Plan, Business Plan and Infrastructure Program and monitoring results on a regular basis
  • Ensuring that risk management systems are in place to cover environmental, operational and financial risks
  • Ensuring we comply with the law and conform to the highest standards of corporate governance practice and ethical conduct

Meetings of the Board are scheduled for the first Wednesday of each month. Additional meetings of the Board are held from time to time as required.

Catherine Scott, Chair

Catherine Scott, Chair

Ms Scott is a highly experienced Chairperson and Non-Executive Director who has held directorships across a portfolio of organisations in transport, water, education and natural resources.

In her prior professional career Catherine held senior positions in the investment banking and finance industries. She is a Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee for the Office of National Rail Safety Regulator, Advisory Board Chair for Goulburn Valley Laundry Service Pty Ltd and a non-executive Director at Edmund Rice Education Australia. Ms Scott is a former Director at Goulburn Valley Water and Goulburn Murray Water.

Ms Scott has a Bachelor of Science (Hons), Bachelor of Commerce and is a Fellow at the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Haydn Pound, Board Director

Mr Haydn Pound is a business management consultant with expertise in strategy development and implementation, process/organisational design, and organisational development.

Mr Pound was previously a consultant with the Boston Consulting Group and a senior manager in Price Waterhouse’s taxation and technology consulting group. Mr Pound founded Advant Group Pty Ltd, a technology and services firm in 2008 and sold it in 2014.

Mr Pound is a Certified Practicing Accountant and holds a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) and a Master of Business Administration (Melbourne Business School and the University of Chicago).

David Heeps, Board Director

Mr David Heeps is a senior associate consultant at Aither and also consults as a sole trader.

Mr Heeps retired as the Chief Executive Officer of the Essential Services Commission in 2016, a position he held for six years. Mr Heeps has previously held senior executive positions at City West Water for 11 years, the former Department of Natural Resources and Environment for seven years and earlier roles with the then Metropolitan Board of Works. Mr Heeps has been a Director and past President of the Institute of Water Administration, has served two terms as a Director of the Victorian Water Industry Association board and currently chairs South East Water Corporation’s Customer Engagement Council.

Mr Heeps holds a Graduate Diploma of Corporate Governance, a Master of Engineering Science and a Bachelor of Engineering (Agriculture).

Christine Cussen, Board Director

Ms Christine Cussen has been a Principal Consultant for Integrity Governance since 2016, providing support to public and private sector boards.

Ms Cussen has previously held senior executive positions with AFG Venture Group, Orius Pty Ltd and as General Manager, Innovation and Technology with the Dulux Group. Ms Cussen is a Director of the Victorian Fisheries Authority, the Gordon Institute of Technical and Further Education and Camberwell Girls Grammar School where she also chairs the Governance and Risk Committee.

Ms Cussen is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds a Diploma of Applied Science and a Post Graduate Diploma of Marketing.

Linda Nieuwenhuizen, Board Director

Ms Linda Nieuwenhuizen is currently the Manager, Governance and Communications at Moira Shire Council. Linda’s previous roles include Manager Stakeholder Relations at Goulburn Murray Water and Marketing Manager at South East Water.

Ms Nieuwenhuizen has a sound knowledge of local issues and understanding of our business. Ms Nieuwenhuizen also demonstrated a good understanding of public sector governance and finance.

She has a Bachelor of Commerce (Economics), Graduate Diploma Agribusiness Management and Graduate Diploma Corporations and Securities Law.

Matthew Burns, Board Director

Mr Matthew Burns holds a Graduate Certificate in Financial Services, several specialisations in the finance sector and brings a strong background in finance, audit and risk, and advocacy consultation skills.

As a Traditional Owner from Taungurung, he has deep knowledge of the water sector through his associations with CMAs and other water corporation boards.

He currently holds a Board position with the Federation of Victorian Traditional Owner Corporations and sits on the Governance sub-committee. 

Jenny Wilson, Board Director

Ms Jenny Wilson is currently the CEO of Murray Dairy. Ms Wilson has previously worked for many years as a senior manager in agricultural and natural resource management programs for the Victorian State government.

Passionate about regional Victoria, Ms Wilson has led a number of programs working with farmers and regional communities to adopt new science and innovation. Ms Wilson has an extensive government and industry background in leadership, project management, strategic planning, community training and development, emergency response and organisational management.

Ms Wilson is a graduate from Charles Sturt University having completed a Bachelor of Environmental Science, holds an Advanced Certificate in Sustainability and a Diploma of Project Management and is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Peter Quinn, Executive Board Director

Peter joined Goulburn Valley Water in 1996 and was appointed to the role of Managing Director in 2008. He has extensive experience in strategic planning, regional infrastructure development, organisational capacity building, risk management and governance. He holds an Executive MBA from the Australian Graduate School of Management, and has undertaken a Churchill Fellowship project on water resource management.

Peter is a member of the Australian Property Institute, the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Institute of Water Administration.